NDT Chair Report to the AFA – NCA Baltimore – 11-14-19

Adrienne F. Brovero

National Debate Tournament Chair

Director of Debate, University of Mary Washington

Adri.debate@gmail.com

73rd National Debate Tournament

The 73rd National Debate Tournament was held in Minneapolis, MN at the University of Minnesota, March 22-25, 2019. The weather did not interfere, and the hospitality was outstanding.

The tournament was won by two juniors from the University of Kentucky, Dan Bannister and Anthony Trufanov. They defeated a pair of seniors from the University of Georgia, Nathan Rice and Johnnie Stupek. The decision was a 6-1 for the affirmative team from Kentucky.

74th & 75th National Debate Tournaments

The 74th National Debate Tournament will be hosted by James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA, on March 27-30, 2020.

The 75th National Debate Tournament will be hosted by Wake Forest University in Chantilly, VA, on March 26-29, 2021.

NDT Committee Membership

District 1 – Joel Lemuel, California State University-Northridge

District 2 - Glen Frappier, Gonzaga University

District 3 – Matt Vega – University of Missouri-Kansas City

District 4 – David Cram Helwich, University of Minnesota

District 5 – William Repko, Michigan State University

District 6 - Ryan Galloway, Samford University

District 7 – Adrienne Brovero, University of Mary Washington, Chair

District 8 – John Turner, Dartmouth College

AFA East - John Katsulas, Boston College

AFA Central – LaTonya Starks, Northwestern University

ADA South - Matt Gerber, Baylor University

AFA West – Adam Symonds, Arizona State University

Membership 2018-2019 Season

There were 71 subscribing schools as of the January 2019 deadline for membership.

- Arizona State University
- 2. Baylor University
- Binghamton University
- 4. Boston College
- California State University @ Fullerton
- California State University @ Long Beach
- 7. California State University @ Northridge
- 8. Concordia University
- 9. Cornell University
- 10. Dartmouth College
- 11. Emory University
- 12. Emporia State University
- 13. Fresno State University
- 14. Fullerton Community College
- 15. George Mason University
- 16. Georgetown University
- 17. Georgia State University
- 18. Gonzaga University
- 19. Harvard University
- 20. Indiana University
- 21. James Madison University
- 22. Johnson County Community College
- 23. Kansas City Community College
- 24. Kansas State University
- 25. Liberty University

- 26. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
- 27. Michigan State University
- 28. Missouri State University
- 29. New School
- 30. New York University
- 31. Northeastern University
 32. Northwestern
 - University
- 33. Purdue University
- 34. Rochester University
- 35. Rutgers University
- 36. Samford University
- 37. Trinity University
- United States
 Military Academy
- 39. United States Naval Academy
- 40. University of California @ Berkeley
- 41. University of Central Florida
- 42. University of Central Oklahoma
- 43. University of Florida
- 44. University of Georgia
- 45. University of Houston
- 46. University of Iowa
- 47. University of Kansas
- 48. University of Kentucky
- 49. University of Louisville
- 50. University of Mary Washington
- 51. University of Miami

- 52. University of Michigan
- 53. University of Minnesota
- 54. University of Missouri @ Kansas City
- 55. University of Nevada @ Las Vegas
- 56. University of Oklahoma
- 57. University of Pittsburgh
- 58. University of Puget Sound
- 59. University of Southern California
- 60. University of Texas @ Austin
- 61. University of Texas @ Dallas
- 62. University of Texas @ San Antonio
- 63. University of Wisconsin @ Madison
- 64. University of Wyoming
- 65. Vanderbilt University
- 66. Wake Forest University
- 67. Wayne State University
- 68. Weber State University
- 69. West Georgia University
- 70. West Virginia University
- 71. Wichita State University