

American Forensic Association – National Individual Events Fournament Committed to public advocaçy and those who teach it

AFA-NIET COMMITTEE REPORT AFA Business Meeting NCA Convention – Baltimore, MD November 13, 2019 Submitted by Lee Mayfield, AFA-NIET Committee Chair

The National Individual Events Tournament was held at the University of Alabama, in Tuscaloosa, AL with Bobby Imbody serving as the tournament host. Dave Gaer, from Lone Star College University Park served as the Tournament Director for his first year. The 2019 NIET had 391 students representing 61 schools competing with 1147 entries—this represents a slight decrease in the numbers from 2018.

Western Kentucky University won the Team Sweepstakes Award and Tyler Junior College won the Team Community College Sweepstakes Award. Andrea Ambam from Western Kentucky University was the Individual Events Sweepstakes Champion for the second consecutive year. The All American Team was selected based upon academic success, college and community service, and forensic accomplishment---13 new members were identified for this award.

Two weeks after the NIET, I received a formal protest of the 2nd place Duo Interpretation team. The protest was forwarded to Dr. Thompson for investigation and he ruled that there was enough evidence for the full NIET committee to discuss qualification. After lengthy discuss the majority of the NIET committee voted to disqualify the pair and eliminate their points from Individual and Team Sweepstakes. Dave Gaer, in his role as tournament director oversaw the disbursement of awards to assure they were in the proper hands.

The 2018 Outstanding New Coach Awards were presented to Sam Ohrenberger-Hopkins of Seton Hall University and Jeremy Frazier of Western Kentucky University. The NIET committee passed a proposal to change of the name of the AFA-NIET to the AFA-NST which will need confirmation by the full AFA governing body. As well, the committee voted to remove the cross-examination period in the final round of Extemporaneous Speaking.

At the spring NIET Committee meeting, Lee Mayfield of James Madison University was elected for a second term as Committee Chair. Karen Morris, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire was elected to continue in her role as Committee Secretary. Dave Gaer of Lone Star College North Harris was elected to serve as our tournament director for the 2020 national tournament to be held in Santa Ana, CA. Other members of the NIET committee include: District 1 Chair, David Hale, East Los Angeles College, District 2 Chair, Joe Gant, Lewis and Clark College, District 3 Chair, Craig Brown, Kansas State University, District 4 Chair, Kittie Grace, Hastings College, District 5 Chair, John Stanley, North Central College, District 6 Chair, Cory Paul Harrison, University of Alabama, District 7 Chair, Nance Riffe, University of North Carolina-Charlotte, District 9 Chair, Sarah Hinkle, Colorado College. Regional Reps include: Southern Rep. Kelly Roberts, University of Florida, Western Rep. Brent Northup, Central Rep. Nathaniel Wilson, Doane College, Eastern Rep. Mark Rittenour. M'Liss Hindman of Tyler Junior College serves as the Two Year College Representative. The 2019-20 National Student Reps are Alli Kennon, Hastings College and Tom Murabito, George Mason University.

Lee Mayfield appointed Shannon LaBove, Rice University to Chair the Committee on Diversity, Equity and Access. Other committee members include Najla Amundson, Concordia College, Dani Soibelman, University of Texas at Austin, and Derek Collins, Western Kentucky University. We also elected Kittie Grace to continue as our Sexual Harassment Officer for 2020.

The NIET Board of Trustees for 2019-2020 is comprised of Larry Schnoor, Minnesota State University (Chair 2022), Lee Mayfield, James Madison University (2021), Dave Gaer, Lone Star College North Harris (2020), Holland Smith, California State University-Los Angeles (2024), and Dawn Lowry, Wiley College (2023).