

American Forensic Association – National Individual Events Tournament Committed to public advocacy and those who teach it

AFA-NIET COMMITTEE REPORT
AFA Business Meeting
NCA Convention Zoom
November 20, 2021
Submitted by Nance Riffe, AFANST Committee Chair

The American Forensic Association National Speech Tournament was held online for the first time in the organization's history. It was the second largest NST we have ever hosted.

As Chair, I approved eligibility appeals for four students to compete at this year's NST. One student was granted a GPA exemption; one student was granted competitor status after having judged a two-year college competition; two students are completing their fifth years with fewer credits than would normally constitute full-time status. The appeals/exemptions were largely based on COVID-19 circumstances.

We also approved online competition for the 2021-2022 academic year. This bylaw change expires in May of 2022.

The 2021 Outstanding New Coach Awards were awarded to honor Bill Heinze - University of Minnesota and Joe Davis of Concordia University.

The 2021 Distinguished Service Award was given to Dawn Lowry, Director of Forensics at George Mason University.

The 2021 Distinguished Alumni Award was given to Dr. Karma Chavez, Chair of the Mexican American and Latinx Studies Department at the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Chavez spoke at the opening assembly.

The All American Team was selected based upon academic success, college and community service, and forensic accomplishment---13 new members were identified for this award.

Carlos Tarin, grant winner of the Manchester Scholar Series grant, completed his research and created a video presentation that is linked to our website and was promoted at the opening assembly for the NST. He provided proof of publication to the Chair of the NST.

At the spring NST Committee meeting, Dr. Nance Riffe of the University of North Carolina at Charlotte was elected Committee Chair. Sarah Hinkle of Colorado College was elected to continue in her role as Committee Secretary. Darren Epping of Kansas State University will serve as the committee's Vice Chair. Amy Martinelli was elected to serve as our tournament director for the 2022 national tournament.

Other members of the NST committee include:

District 1 Chair, David Hale, East Los Angeles College,

District 2 Chair, Joe Gant, Lewis and Clark College,

District 3 Chair, Chas Womelsdorf, Lousiana Lafayette

District 4 Chair, Najla Amundson, Concordia

District 5 Chair, John Stanley, North Central College,

District 6 Chair, Ben Pyle, University of Alabama,

District 7 Chair, Sam Ohrenberger-Hopkins, Seton Hall University,

District 9 Chair, Sarah Hinkle, Colorado College.

Regional Reps include:

Southern Rep. Kelly Roberts, University of Florida,

Western Rep. Brent Northup,

Central Rep. Nathaniel Wilson, Doane College,

Eastern Rep. Mark Rittenour.

M'Liss Hindman of Tyler Junior College serves as the Two Year College Representative. The 2021-22 National Student Reps are Mycah Butler, Illinois State University, and Johnny Vasallo, Texas State U.

The NST Board of Trustees is comprised of Larry Schnoor, Minnesota State University (Chair 2022), Lee Mayfield, James Madison University (2021), Dave Gaer, Lone Star College North Harris (2020), Holland Smith, California State University-Los Angeles (2024), and Dawn Lowry, Wiley College (2023).

The University of Nebraska at Lincoln put in a bid to move hosting the NST to 2022 and the bid was accepted. $\,$