

American Forensic Association – National SpeechTournament Committed to public advocacy and those who teach it

AFA-NIET COMMITTEE REPORT
AFA Business Meeting
NCA Convention Zoom
November 17, 2022
Submitted by Nance Riffe, AFANST Committee Chair

The American Forensic Association National Speech Tournament was held at the University of Nebraska Lincoln this past April. The tournament went smoothly considering the amount of Covid-19 planning and precautions we had to put into place.

As Chair, I approved eligibility appeals for three students to compete at this past year's NST. The appeals/exemptions were largely based on COVID-19 circumstances; I don't foresee these types of appeals occurring in the future.

We approved online competition permanently to count as qualifying competition for the NST. We also lowered the qualification expectations from superior performance at three tournaments to superior performance at two tournaments in an attempt to help more students qualify for the NST with less travel and competition stress.

The 2022 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Darren Epping Fuentes of Kansas State University and to Mark Rittenour of Akron University.

The 2022 New Coach Award was presented to Patrick Seick of Tampa University

The 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award was given to Juanita Page Wilson. Juanita accepted the award and spoke at the Awards.

The All American Team was selected based upon academic success, college and community service, and forensic accomplishment---12 new members were identified for this award:

Ben Czapla—University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Samuel Edward Johnson—Hastings College

Clare Frances Kennedy—University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Chauncella Koulibali—Whitworth University

Anna Kutbay—University of Alabama

Kelly Diane Mwaamba—Lafayette College

Maleeha Rasheed—University of Illinois at Chicago

Meera Susan Sam—University of Texas at Austin

Jericho Simone—Whitworth University

Hailea Stone—San Diego State University

Erin Grace Swearingen—University of Texas at Austin

Cordelia Tran—George Mason University

At the spring NST Committee meeting, Darren Epping Fuentes of Kansas State University was elected Committee Vice-Chair.

Other members of the NST committee include:

District 1 Chair, David Hale, East Los Angeles College,

District 2 Chair, Joe Gant, Lewis and Clark College,

District 3 Chair, Randy Cox, UT Austin

District 4 Chair, Jennifer Torres, Doane U

District 5 Chair, John Stanley, North Central College,

District 6 Chair, Ben Pyle, University of Alabama,

District 7 Chair, Sam Ohrenberger-Hopkins, Seton Hall University,

District 9 Chair, Sarah Hinkle, Colorado College.

Regional Reps include:

Southern Rep. Kelly Roberts, University of Florida,

Western Rep. Brent Northup,

Central Rep. Nathaniel Wilson, Doane College,

Eastern Rep. Mark Rittenour.

M'Liss Hindman of Tyler Junior College serves as the Two Year College Representative.

he 2022-23 National Student Reps are Ja'Quacy Minter from the University of Alabama, and Ashton Rios of Texas State U.

The AFANST will be hosted by Santa Ana College and the city of Santa Ana in 2023. The University of Wisconsin Eau-Claire is submitting a bid to host in 2024.