NDT Chair Report to the AFA – NCA Zoom – 11-17-22

Adrienne F. Brovero

National Debate Tournament Chair

Director of Debate, University of Mary Washington

Adri.debate@gmail.com

76th National Debate Tournament

The 76th National Debate Tournament was hosted by JMU and held using a hybrid format – both inperson at JMU and online on Classrooms.cloud.

The tournament was won by the Dartmouth College team of Arvind Shankar and Tyler Vergho. They defeated Rafael Pierry and Giorgio Rabbini. The decision was a 3-2 for the affirmative team from Dartmouth.

Future National Debate Tournaments

- The 2023 National Debate Tournament will be hosted by Wake Forest University in Chantilly, VA. The plan is to host it as a hybrid tournament to allow teams unable to travel to participate online.
- The Board of Trustees is in the process of securing bids for the 2024 National Debate Tournament.

NDT Committee Membership

District 1 – Joel Lemuel, California State University-Northridge	District 7 – Adrienne Brovero, University of Mary Washington, Chair		
District 2 – Glen Frappier, Gonzaga University	District 8 – John Turner, Dartmouth College		
District 3 – Brendon Bankey, University of	AFA East – John Katsulas, Boston College		
Texas District 4 – David Cram Helwich, University of	AFA Central – Eric Morris, Missouri State University		
Minnesota	ADA South – Mikaela Malsin, Emory		
District 5 – William Repko, Michigan State	University		
University District 6 – Ryan Galloway, Samford University	AFA West – Adam Symonds, Arizona State University		

Membership 2021-2022 Season

There were 58 subscribing schools:

1.	Amherst	3.	Baylor University	4.	Binghamton
2.	Arizona State				University

- 5. Boston College
- 6. California State
 University-Fullerton
- 7. California State
 University-Long
 Beach
- 8. Cornell University
- 9. Dartmouth College
- 10. Emory University
- 11. Emporia University
- 12. George Mason University
- 13. Georgetown University
- 14. Gonzaga University
- 15. Harvard University
- 16. Indiana University
- 17. James Madison University
- 18. Johnson County
 Community College
- 19. Kansas State University
- 20. Liberty University
- 21. Michigan State University
- 22. Missouri State University
- 23. New York University
- 24. Northwestern University

- 25. Purdue University
- 26. Rutgers University
- 27. Samford University
- 28. The New School
- 29. Trinity University
- 30. Tufts University
- 31. United States
 Military Academy
- 32. United States Naval Academy
- 33. University of California-Berkeley
- 34. University of Central Oklahoma
- 35. University of Georgia
- 36. University of Houston
- 37. University of Iowa
- 38. University of Kansas
- 39. University of Kentucky
- 40. University of Mary Washington
- 41. University of Massachusetts-Amherst
- 42. University of Miami
- 43. University of Michigan

- 44. University of Minnesota
- 45. University of Nebraska-Lincoln
- 46. University of Pittsburgh
- 47. University of Rochester
- 48. University of Southern California
- 49. University of Texas-Austin
- 50. University of Texas-Dallas
- 51. University of Texas-San Antonio
- 52. University of West Georgia
- 53. University of Wyoming
- 54. Wake Forest University
- 55. Wayne State University
- 56. Weber State University
- 57. Western Washington University
- 58. Wichita State University