AFA-NIET COMMITTEE REPORT

AFA Business Meeting

NCA Convention Zoom

November 15, 2023

Submitted by Joe Gantt, AFA-NST Committee Chair

The American Forensic Association National Speech Tournament was held in the city of Santa Ana, CA. The tournament went smoothly despite the unusual situation where there was no host institution. Special thanks to Amy Martinelli of the University of Florida and Mallory Marsh of James Madison University for their roles as tournament director and assistant tournament, respectively.

I assumed the role of chair in June 2023; to this point, no appeals or protests have occurred at this point.

The 2023 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Shannon LaBove of Rice University. The 2023 New Coach Award was presented to Eva Margarita of the University of Texas and Agatha Attridge of CSU Los Angeles.

The 2022 Distinguished Alumni Award was given to Steve Rohr. Rohr accepted the award and provided remarks at the award ceremony.

The All-American Team was selected based upon academic success, college and community service, and forensic accomplishment---11 students were identified for this award:

Sandharu Krishna Aladuwaka, University of Alabama

Dominique "Nikki" Ann deSeriere, Hastings College

Jake Garlock, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Taylor Nicole Gilliam, Rice University

Brooke Marie Hoa Hornberger, East Tennessee State University

Sarah Keller, Illinois State University

Eden Kenney, Lewis & Dirk College

Meghan Elizabeth Roeser, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Kivraj Singh, San Francisco State University

Riley Smith, University of Nebraska-Omaha

Angelina Stinson, Concordia University Nebraska

At the spring NST Committee meeting, Joe Gantt of Lewis & Clark College was elected chair; Jennifer Torres was elected Secretary.

Other members of the NST committee include:

District 1: David Hale, East Los Angeles College (2023-2025)

District 2: Kyle Barber, Bellevue College (2022-2024)

District 3: Masey Hammons, University of Louisiana Lafayette (2023-2025)

District 4: Jennifer Torres, Doane University (2022-2024)

District 5: John Stanley, North Central College (2023-2025)

District 6: Ben Pyle, University of Alabama (2022-2024)

District 7: Sam Ohrenberger-Hopkins, Seton Hall University (2023-2025)

District 9: Jillian Jaeger, Colorado College (2023-2025)

Regional Reps include:

Southern Rep. Amy Martinelli, University of Florida,

Western Rep. Brent Northup, Carroll College

Central Rep. Jordan Johnson, Hastings College

Eastern Rep. Mark Rittenour. University of Akron

M'Liss Hindman of Tyler Junior College serves as the Two Year College Representative.

he 2022-23 National Student Reps are Eleni Mercer from George Mason University and Abigail Cammiso from Arizona State University.

The University of Wisconsin Eau-Claire will be hosting the 2024 NST April 5-8, 2024. Bids are open for subsequent years.